top of page
Search
  • sootallures

One Month Into Lockdown (Staying Safe & Staying  Home) - Crispin Thomas

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

One Month Into Lockdown (Staying Safe & Staying  Home)

one month into lockdown

And I’m standing here again 

And I’m gazing from the window 

At the early morning rain

Been days of welcome sunshine 

I’ve been working here from home

It’s all way off in the future

but it’s what I’ve always known

As I look across the valley 

I can see our little town 

The roads are more than silent

There’s a sense of peace around  

You can call it isolation

You don’t have to be alone

You just need to feel the moment

Staying safe and staying home

We could live in fear out walking

As we stride across the land 

we could dress up like Darth Vader 

Tape measures in our hands

We could set them on two metres

And all wave them from the start 

So if anyone comes near us

we could keep them far apart

we could ring a bell or whistle 

When we’re taking exercise

we could all wear scarves like robbers

with dark glasses on our eyes 

and they call it social distancing

It’s a phrase we’ve never known 

We’re just doing what they told us

Staying safe and staying home

And on Thursdays in the evening 

We will clap with all our might 

For the nurses and the carers

And for those who shine a light 

And for those all stuck in places

Where they didn’t mean to be

With no back yard or a garden 

Or some welcome company 

And for those who drive the lorries

The buses and the trains 

Who risk their lives for others

Once again and then again 

I’ve been humbled by their courage

While they’re out there for us all 

Just to keep this planet going 

But I’ve seen too many fall 

It’s a standstill situation 

Of the kind we’ve never known

But it’s heart’ning knowing we’re all

Staying  safe and staying home 

I’ve got books that I had started

Before this came about 

Of a world that was enticing 

When we used to venture out

And although it’s quiet and silent

It’s the way I love to stay 

And I think myself so lucky 

For another groundhog day

It’s a moment to be grateful

It’s another chance to see

that the one thing that’s important 

Is still right inside of me

You can call me sentimental

I’m not sayin’ I’m in some zone

I’m just thankful for each morning 

Staying safe and staying home

c. Crispin Thomas ~ isolation poem #3    23 April 2020






49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trains and Football

Football Specials There was, of course, a close association Between late Victorian railways And the formation of football clubs: Manchester United FC grew from Newton Heath LYR FC (The Lancashire and

Swindon's GWR Heritage

Heritage ADVERTISEMENTHeritageWhat is ‘Heritage’? We all sort of know what heritage means, Don’t we, in a way … Something handed down from the past, A tradition, an inheritance, Be it cultural, tangib

Women's Work and the GWR

An A to Z of Women’s Work in the Past in the GWR in Peace and War A is for acetylene cutter and assembler and dismantler of automatic instruments and acetylene welder B is for booking clerk and brass

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page